Skip to content

Oh no he di’int!

May 3, 2009

Bruschettaboy over at Aaronovitch Watch said this about SDAP in a recent post:

…sneering at people for going to protests seems to me to be more or less intrinsically twattish, and there’s quite a lot of it on the site. But on the other hand, it does at least appear to be aiming to get the message across that there are things going on in Darfur other than a generalised [sic, or maybe he’s just from across the pond] March of Evil which must be rebuffed by non-specific Action on the part of the USA. I’d rather have it than this piece of “diplomacy is appeasement” bollo from Nick Kristof, for example.

I don’t know how to take this.  Of course I appreciate the “twattish” compliment, and intrinsically twattish, even?  Aw shucks, you’re making me blush, sir!  Please do go on!  But saying we offer better Darfur-related commentary than Nick Kristof is like saying we’re better looking than Lotney “Sloth” Fratelli from The Goonies.

You think I’m hotter than this guy?  Gee thanks!

You think I’m hotter than this guy? Gee thanks!

Cereally though, I agree with Bruschettaboy.  It would be in bad taste, even twattish, to attack the unpaid grassroots activists for attending rallies and protests, but that’s not what we do when we cover various events.  No, we tend to focus on the organizers, the paid professional advocates who are responsible for planning these events and making them successful.  In my opinion, the unpaid activists are just trying to help where they can and attend events for causes they believe in.  That’s nothing but admirable.  But they depend on the paid advocates in non-profit organizations to figure out the details like what legislative routes to take and which solutions to pursue.  Sadly, I fear that they’re being led by blind men, and that’s who we write about: The paid advocates who choose to be blind and, even worse, who choose to blind others.

Comments are closed.

