Skip to content

The Children’s Crusade 2: Revenge of the Screenshots

June 25, 2009

As my loyal readers may recall, I recently critiqued the Save Darfur Coalition’s Dollars for Darfur campaign for using what I argue are inappropriate tactics in an effort to recruit children into the save Darfur movement.  Included in that critique is a comparison of SDC’s various advocacy materials.  Specifically, I observe that in their materials designed for adult consumption, SDC claims that 300,000 people have died, while in their materials distributed to children, SDC sets the death toll at 400,000.

Well, if you were to read that post right now and click on all the links, you might call me a liar.  You see, the death toll has quietly been changed to 300,000 in the What’s Happening in Darfur? section of the Dollars for Darfur site.  Pretty slick.  Luckily for SDAP’s reputation, I took screenshots of the page in question before publishing that post so I could prove I wasn’t lying in case something exactly like this happened.

When I first linked to the What’s Happening in Darfur? section of the D4D website, it looked like this:

400,000

Now, it looks like this:

300,000

As you can see, 400,000 has been changed to 300,000 and 2.5 million has been changed to 2.7 million.  Note that I have not changed the links in the previous post, but I have added a footnote directing readers to this post for clarification.  Also note that this is the second time this week that SDC has made changes to its website following SDAP criticism.

See?  My paranoia came in handy.  Just remember that the next time you make fun of my tinfoil hat.

Comments are closed.

